Transfer volunteer shifts

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
ehatz
Transfer volunteer shifts

It would be really nice if volunteers could transfer a shift to someone else. We shut down self-cancellation 2 weeks out from an event and require volunteers to find a replacement after that. If they could transfer their shifts to someone else, it would make the whole process much easier!

tad
Thank you for the request! I

Thank you for the request! I have added a vote for this to our list of requested features.

There are several ways this might be handled. Maybe a cancellation-pending someone else signing up to take the slot, smilar to the way the system works now when someone has not confirmed a slot they signed up for, which is (after a period of 10 minutes by default) someone else can take the slot once other slots in that position become taken.

Also the waiting list feature might be helpful (Edit a Slot under Signup Sheet Design). This lets you have wait-listed participants for a slot that become commitments as soon as someone cancels within that slot.

ehatz
The waiting list is a valid

The waiting list is a valid suggestion, but what I really need is the ability for a volunteer to transfer their shifts to a specific person after self-cancellation and sign ups end.

tad
We definitely like the idea

We definitely like the idea that a volunteer could self-assign commitment(s) to someone else!! The challenge for us is that accomodating this in all of the possible sceanrios for our large customer base probably makes it more likely to be considered for a major future release rather than any time soon.

With that said, I have been trying to think of a solution that could work sooner... the system does not coordinate cancellations with the waiting list this way now and I am not making any features promises, but it might be feasable for us to add an option to allow self cancellations near to the event only when someone is already signed up for the waiting list. Instructions could be added to the Cancel Instructions (under Settings > Layout > Cancel Instructions) reminding volunteers to sign up the new volunteer for the waiting list first and then they will be able to cancel themselves.

With that idea in mind, this would work now in the current system: consider allowing self-cancellations closer than two weeks out, and modify both the Self Cancel Instructions (in the Event under Settings > Layout > Self Cancel Instructions) and the Cancellation Notification Template (under Settings > Emails > Volunteer Emails > Cancellation Notification Template ) to remind volunteers that they are responsible to replace themselves with someone else, which they can do immediately after they cancel or sending their replacement to the event's sign-up page (add that link to the Cancellation Notification Template by inserting the EVENT_URL variable in the text).

Of course any event or organiazation administrator can change or move slot assignments from the Manage tab of the event, in most cases without having to cancel and re-add a volunteer. I assume that is your current procedure when someone contacts them with a manaul cancellation.

ehatz
This could definitely work...

This could definitely work... Thank you!

tad
We have added an option

We have added an option "Always allow Self Cancellation for slots with an occupied waiting list." This can be enabled or disabled under the Details tab for each event and is currently the default behavior even if Self Cancellations Are Not Allowed is selected. ... This should make it a little easier for a volunteer to assign their slot to someone else by having the other volunteer sign up for the waiting list and then canceling themself.

ehatz
This is wonderful! Thank you.

This is wonderful! Thank you.